The Higher Training Scheme (HTS) is a modular, in-service professional development scheme designed to enable individuals to acquire the required depth and breadth of knowledge and competence to fulfil the needs of specialist and advanced practitioners.

The HTS aims to build on the skills audiologists already have, but to train them to a higher level to enable them to work in specialist clinical areas such as paediatrics, vestibular assessment, and tinnitus counselling.

The HTS is open to all BAA members who are working at level 5 or above who wish to develop a set of clinical skills and expertise. It doesn’t matter which training route you took into Audiology, if you are a member, you can complete the Higher Training Scheme.

“This has produced high quality practitioners who are ‘ready to go’ and both clinically competent as well as have the underlying knowledge to help lead the profession forwards”

What's involved?

What modules are included in the scheme

Current modules (as at September 2019) include:

  • Paediatric Assessment
  • Paediatric Habilitation
  • Balance Assessment & Rehabilitation
  • Therapeutic Rehabilitation
  • Adult Tinnitus & Hyperacusis
  • Rehabilitation and first line diagnostic assessment

Modules are under continuous review.

Training and support

Modules consist of two main elements:

  • Clinical training,
  • Broadening theoretical knowledge, critical appraisal and reasoning skills

Following successful completion of each component, there will be a final examination assessing both elements. All elements must be successfully completed within three years.

Details of the modules are given in packs which can be downloaded from the BAA website. These include details of the required standards the individual needs to demonstrate at examination, required activities to be completed, and a record of continuous assessment.

Individuals completing an HTS module must have a formal overall supervisor who is an Audiologist or Clinical Scientist working at HSCF level 7 or above, who has a record of successfully training practitioners at M-level. Clinical training is usually provided by those working at level 6 or equivalent who regularly work in that area and have done so for two years or more. They should also hold the HCCC in that area. Further details of supervision requirements are outlined in the regulations for the scheme.

‘’I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my HTS training so far"

To find out more about the HTS Scheme, log in to the members’ area of the website and view the HTS information pages.